You are here

Guest Reviews/Testimonials

Denise W., Denver, CO, 11/26/2011 (HomeAway Review) San Carlos

We have rented "pet friendly" homes in the Carmel area for the past nine years and none have been as well appointed as this home! It truly is a "sanctuary" vacation rental. Plus, the staff went out of their way to meet our special request. We look forward to our return. J,D & Pup! Littleton, CO

Meredith, Opelika, AL, 05/17/2011 (HomeAway Review) San Carlos

Wow! What can I say?? If you are planning a trip to Carmel, it doesn't get much better than Sanctuary by the Sea!!!! I came to Carmel with my husband, another couple and a girlfriend. All three of us girls were running the Big Sur Marathon. Sactuary by the Sea was the perfect house for us!! Tons of space! An amazing kitchen! A glorious clawfoot tub! And only about a 5 minute walk to Downtown Carmel & the beach! The Sanctuary Vacation staff was so helpful prior to our arrival. Hopefully, we will be back to Carmel and staying at Sactuary by the Sea again soon!

Susan and Gary, Rocklin, CA, 04/30/2009 (HomeAway Review) 114B

…..We have rented several beach homes in Fort Bragg, Jenner, Aptos, and Capitola, but Sanctuary stands head and shoulders above them. This has been a great week and we look forward to returning in the future. Thank you for a five star vacation.

Owner Submitted Review, , 10/18/2011 (HomeAway Review) Harbor House

It’s been 3 long yrs. since our last vacation. From the second we walked in to ‘Sanctuary by the Sea” all our stress vanished. I have never seen a rental so well equipped. We have traveled to world over and this has to be one of the most tranquil places we have ever stayed. Just a short walk to Fisherman’s Wharf & Cannery Row, we recommend the 17 mile drive and Carmel by the Sea, a day trip to Big Sur & Pfeiffer Beach a must. Thank you again for everything Todd & Lisa Beck

Ya Ya, Winfield, Kansas, 05/20/2011 (HomeAway Review) Santa Fe

Five girlfriends stayed at Casa Felice for a week and had a truly wonderful experience. The reservation process was very easy and everything was just as it was stated. The house was very clean, bedding wonderful, kitchen well stocked (nice to have "real" dishes). The kitchen/living/patio area was a great place to visit and relax. The block to downtown was so nice and only about 12 blocks to the beach. Grocery stores, shopping, restaurants were all close and there were a lot of choices. We loved the house and are ready to come back! Thanks again for sharing your wonderful home.

Lisa G., , 02/10/2013 (HomeAway Review) 114A

We had a great time staying at this beautiful home through Sanctuary Rentals. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful in terms of finding us a house in the perfect location -we needed to be walking distance to Cannery Row and this house is literally one block away. the house was incredibly clean, the beds were all very comfortable with nice linens. The bathrooms were also clean and really big with luxurious towels. There was wine and Boursin cheese waiting our arrival, which was awesome. The kitchen was fully equipped and there were ocean views throughout the beautiful upstairs. I would definitely recommend this house and using sanctuary rentals to anyone and I hope to get to stay here again. It's a five minute walk to the aquarium, along the beautiful boardwalk. Totally awesome.

Owner Submitted Review, , 09/16/2011 (HomeAway Review) 114A

I have never been treated better: What a fantastic time we’ve had. Thank you very much for your wonderful effort. I hope we can do it again soon!!!

Owner Submitted Review, , 09/06/2013 (HomeAway Review) Torres Guest

A lovely stay in a charming cottage! Everyone I dealt with at Sanctuayr Vacation Rentals were professional, pleasant, and repsonsive!The cottage was appointed beautiful with personal touches throughout.Thank you! John and Liz

Elizabeth K., , 12/07/2011 (HomeAway Review) Torres Guest

This is a fantastic place to stay. The house is spotless, furnished thoughtfully, and extremely well equipped. The location is so peaceful. I could tell that the owners really took time to make sure this was a great experience for any one staying in the home. The office staff are available, helpful, and very nice to deal with. I recommend this rental home and company highly and with out reservation. I will definitely be retuning to this location. Perfect.

Owner Submitted Review, , 09/16/2011 (HomeAway Review) Torres Guest

We decided to come to Carmel at the last minute and we found this charming cottage. The customer service was excellent before & during our stay. We loved the accommodations. You really provided all we needed and more! Elisa F.

Larry M., San Rafael, CA, 04/18/2011 Torres Main

4/18 We greatly enjoyed your home. Everything we could possibly need was at hand. Your attention to even the smallest detail was something we have not encountered very often. We look forward to another stay in the future! Erica and Larry

Genie O., East Hampton, NY, 04/15/2011 Torres Main

Thank you for being so mindful - to care for others so beautifully. Until next time…. Genie

Owner Submitted Review, , 04/06/2011 (HomeAway Review) Torres Main

One of the best getaways ever! The Torres Cottage is everything promised, charming, sunny, comfortable and meticulously clean. The hosts are gracious and took care of everything. We hope that many more get to enjoy the peace and quiet of this quaint little beach town. Thank you. A.S., San Francisco

Cynthia T., , 10/12/2013 (HomeAway Review) Mesa Main

This was a getaway trip for a some R&R and some fun too. I rented this place sight unseen based on what I saw on the website. The house turned out to be more than I expected. Very comfy and has a great energy. It is clean and very well maintained with a fantastic yard and deck with an ocean view. The neighborhood is so peaceful, I was happy just hanging at the house. I felt so comfortable here I was ready to move in! I will definitely return.

Melinda M., , 01/11/2012 (HomeAway Review) Mesa Main

We rented the sanctuary Carmel Mesa house over the new year weekend 2011-2012, and could not have been more pleased with our stay. The homes amenities were abundant and the decor was simply lovely! It's location to all that Carmel and Monterrey have to offer is perfection. We had one quick question about the house and after calling the folks at Sanctuary Rentals, the issue was fixed within 20 minutes. You can't get that kind of service in any 5 star hotel! We are so very impressed! My brother and sister in law rented the guest house adjacent to the main house, and the ease with which we could all gather and share the New Year together was wonderful! We will absolutely be back! R. Sciandri & M. Miller - San Francisco

Lisa C., , 11/30/2011 (HomeAway Review) Mesa Main

As anyone who has ever rented a vacation home in Carmel knows, rentals are very expensive , often poorly maintained, dated and lacking in many amenities. This was absolutely not the case at the lovely cottages we rented from Sanctuary Vacation rentals in early November. The main house and guest house were both charming and very well appointed. In addition, I found the staff and owner to be very gracious, accommodating and responsive to our needs. I would recommend them unequivicably. Thank you again, Lisa

Petpro, El Dorado, CA, 09/18/2013 (HomeAway Review) Mesa Guest

The staff at Sanctuary Vacation Rentals is wonderful. They are friendly and make sure you are happy. The guest house is perfect for someone looking for a small but beautiful place to stay and a short drive to the beach. The decorating is so soothing and the place is full of light. I am so very thankful that Charlie, my dog, and I are welcomed there and the neighborhood is perfect for a nice quiet walk. I hope to make it next year too! This was my second year and loved it!

Owner Submitted Review, , 10/28/2012 (HomeAway Review) Mesa Guest

Dear Sanctuary Team, You have a special touch and have created a perfect standard for all in the rental business to strive for-...starting with the website which stands out and inspires confidence in what you offer and promise....All was met and exceeded. The good fortune of having a property in this wonderful neighborhood is matched by what you have done with it. The great design and decor is so soothing and beautiful. All amenities, furniture, the patio, beach equipment, privacy...everything! All so well thought out and accommodating-and perfect for us to enjoy with our girls"the labs". All perfect! Thank you so much We cant wait to return. Bravo!

Luann M., Springfield, MO, 06/14/2011 (HomeAway Review) Mesa Guest

This vacation rental was a great place. Clean and spotless. Great location with easy access. Beautiful, private patio. Spacious and open cottage. Very quiet neighborhood. Management was extremely easy to work with. A torta and bottle of wine was waiting for us upon our arrival. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Carmel.

LaCynda D., Reno, NV, 05/22/2011 Mesa Guest

As a property manager - I over see 85 vacation homes in the Lake Tohoe area. When we travel and rent I like to see how other places do things. The Sanctuary by the Sea Cottage was perfect in every way. The owner and management thought of everything and the beautiful orchids were a very nice touch. The kitchen is well stocked. The use of space in the cottage was well thought out The house instruction binder was helpful, the TV instructions were also very helpful! Internet was easily accessible. Our stay was delightful in everyway. I would highly recommend the cottage. We may reserve the main house next time. Thank you very much. In my opinion you are doing everything just right. Kindest regards, La Cynda Doucette

Owner Submitted Review, , 01/26/2013 (HomeAway Review) 5NWSF

Thank you! [La Casa Fina] was a great place and well equipped. [The House Managers] Kim and Beth were great. Barbara and David." - David F., Scottsdale, AZ, 07/31/2013 5NWSF

Owner Submitted Review, , 01/26/2013 (HomeAway Review) 5NWSF

Thank you to Peace of Mind and Sanctuary Vacation rentals for an outstanding, perfect, tranquil, relaxing and joy-filled week. This little home is the most beautiful comfortable getaway. And for all the many thoughtful touches.... We loved it!

Owner Submitted Review, , 01/26/2013 (HomeAway Review) 5NWSF

I recently had surgery and "Peace of Mind" was the perfect place for recovery. It truly is a place to be for "rest and relaxation". I loved every minute of being here and really did not want to leave. I love the beach house theme and felt at home the moment I walked through the door. The location is wonderful: quiet, peaceful, quaint and I love that it is so close to Carmel. I have fallen in love with Carmel and if given the chance to stay here again I will do it in a heartbeat! Five stars!

Julie B., Vancouver, BC, 06/30/2012 Pine Main

We loved, beyond belief, your home! It exceeded our expectations. We are now going to redesign our home when we return. We will definitely recommend your property to anyone coming to this area. The beds, too comfortable, hard to get out of in the morning. All the thoughtful touches were so much appreciated. Thanks again for a memorable vacation.

Kim W., FLAGSTAFF, AR, 04/25/2012 Pine Main

Everything over and above. Better than expected. Best VRBO we have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Perfect, fresh, top of the items provided. Location in walking restaurants, shops and beach. Incredible historical home. Airy, clean and tastefully decorated. We will be back next year!!

Owner Submitted Review, , 07/25/2013 Atherton

After having a bad experience at another place, we were hesitant to book this offer. We had been on vacation for almost a month and not having luck with the other rental we had chosen, we decided to go back home and forget about it. However it was not our desire to finish our vacation on a low note and ventured to try Atherton cottage. I am so happy we did that. It would have been a shame not to visit this area, beautiful hikes, the ocean, the beauty of this little town. Sanctuary services were superb and especially Marietta so kind, considerate and professional. We have decided to come back next year and stay for a longer time. Thanks Marietta, Joyce and all the team at Sanctuary. You guys made a difference on our final week of vacation.

Owner Submitted Review, , 07/25/2013 (HomeAway Review) Atherton

The staff was all very kind and helpful. We drove through Big Sur and loved McKay falls. We visited Point Lobos repeatedly. Probably the best hiking, views and wildlife, just a few miles away. For food we enjoyed Crepes of Brittany on the Wharf, (the owner is from France, delightful,) Fish Wife restaurant and the clam chowder at old Fisherman's Grotto.We kayaked and saw the seals, otters and so many birds. We had a great time and this place is a wonderful, relaxing wonderful spot to return to!!

Owner Submitted Review, , 07/25/2013 (HomeAway Review) Atherton

Thank you so much for your kindness, generosity and absolutely beautiful home. It was the perfect place for us and had everything we could possibly need. Great location, communication and standards that will be hard to meet again. A wonderful place to celebrate our 1st year anniversary and Husband's birthday.

Owner Submitted Review, , 07/25/2013 Atherton

The cottage is stylish, yet homey and comfortable. With the lounges on the deck, it was just as relaxing staying at the cottage as walking on the beach. I would and will be recommending it to people so they can share our great experience. Marietta was excellent in looking after us and helping us with all our arrangements for our stay.

Cynthia P., 10C,Fo, 10/06/2012 Atherton

What a beautiful property and perfectly located for our stay in Carmel. My only regret is leaving! Our week was filled with local flavor and meanderings that kept us near by. Coming "home" to the Atherton Bungalow rounded out each day. The staff at Sanctuary should also be noted for thier superior assistance and professionalism. Thank you for making our stay most memorable...

Nan B., , 10/05/2012 (HomeAway Review) Atherton

We have stayed here a few times and love your cottage!! It always feels like being home and we agree with other reviews that it generates a lot of positive energy. We will definitely visit again!!

Kyle, United States, 05/09/2012 (HomeAway Review) Atherton

I booked this as a honeymoon getaway, but had no idea what we were in for. From the moment we pulled up in the driveway and unlocked the door, I knew a 5 star rating was needed for this special place. Not only was the house exquisite, but it was filled floor to ceiling with everything needed for any kind of stay. It is clean, bright, and inviting. So many extras and add-ons with your rental, too! Location is superb and you can indeed wake up to ocean views. We booked this planning to return to Carmel on the regular, but try different house rentals each time until we found a favorite. One day at this place will make you want to stay nowhere else. Next time we're back, we know where we are staying.I never comment or review lodging or experience with other purchases. This property though cannot go without a good word! We are already making plans to come back to our newly found beach home paradise.

Martha M., Yuba City, Ca, 04/20/2012 Atherton

An absolutely divine cottage! Loved everything about it: the peaceful setting, private patios, beautifully decorated & cozy interior, fully equipted kitchen w/everything in "like new" condition, great fireplaces, very comfortable bed. Everything was so clean & perfectly maintained- we've rented quite a number of rentals throughout the years & we have to give yours 5 stars!! Thank you for making our 19th anniversary get -away such an awesome experience

David U., 255 California Street ,Au, 04/18/2012 Atherton

As Ann Lindburg said in her book " Gift from the Sea" the sea will always give you what you most need if your spirit is open and your heart full of joy. Your cottage to me is the Sea and your hosptaility and nurturing to your guests does allow one to find Renewal and Peace...Thank you so much!! We loved our stay and will return in October- this cottage truely is a Gem all on it's own!!

Tracie G., Fresno, CA, 12/03/2011 Atherton

Thank you thank you thank you! Your company is so wonderful to work with I can't wait to use your services again! Carmel is fantastic I can't remember the last time I felt so at home I another city than my home town. Tracie G. 2/17/12

Heather B., Fresno, CA, 06/04/2012 6th Street

Our stay at 6th Street was PERFECT! Even more beautiful than the pictures, everything we could possibly need/want. Thank you for letting us stay at your beautiful beach house & to the wonderful staff @ Sanctuary Vacation Rentals for being so amazing and helpful

Ann K., 5515 Utica Ridge Rd,Da, 11/21/2013 Sloat Rd.

Our vacation at Pacific Whispers was a delight. Our family of nine loved this home and the terrific beds, pillows, towels, table settings and extra amenities...the cleanliness of this home could not have been better. Simply a beautiful and comfy home. The Big Sur Half Marathon was the reason for our trip from Iowa, Denver, San Diego and south Bend and proved to be fantastic on a beautiful day in Monterey. Sanctuary Vacation Rentals did a perfect job lining us up and caring for our arrival...they presented accurately and beautifully the photos and information on Pacific Whispers. We felt well cared for. Thanks to Kim for her attention to detail and delightful cheer in working with us.

Louis A., Gold River, CA, 06/17/2013 Sloat Rd.

What a great house! We came, we saw, we vacationed in style. Golf, beaches, hiking, and more. This vacation was a family reunion, and was very special, indeed. We can't wait to tell our friends and family about Pacific Whispers. We are also discussing a return visit. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful house and helping us create a truly remarkable vacation! Marlene, Lou and Adrian, Sacramento CA and Amber, Rob, Evan and Abby, Thousand Oaks, CA.

Laiele D., Fresno, CA, 04/04/2012 Sloat Rd.

We are avid travelers and experienced beach combers...with this comes ample rental experience! Your home is among the most lovely and comfortable we've been able to enjoy.Thank you for paying close attention to detail.The amenities were the best!

Raschell W., Manhattan Beach, CA, 03/24/2012 Sloat Rd.

Wow! What a great place. They have thought of everything! Our whole group had a wonderful time and made many wonderful memories. I have 2 small children, and my oldest asked if he could move here. Thank you for the excellent home!! The M. Clan

Tom K., Scottsdale, AZ, 02/20/2012 Sloat Rd.

What a wonderful place in a wonderful location. Four guys on an annual golf trip - Over the years we have been fortunate to experience some great locations. This will surely be among our finest. The home is perfectly appointed - you certainly know your clientele. Thanks so much for the care, attention to detail and the all-around warm hospitality." Warmest regards,
Terry Doug Chris and Tom

Pamela D., , 08/03/2012 (HomeAway Review) Lover’s Point Beach house

Our stay at the Lover's Point property was a pleasant experience from the moment we booked. The contacts we had with booking and management we found universally polite, responsive and thorough. We arrived with our four children and were delighted to find the home welcoming, beautifully maintained and equipped. Rooms were expansive and the six of us managed to settle comfortably in the space immediately. It was a welcome retreat at the end of our fun-filled days. The home is located just steps from the bike trail, beach and shoreline. Sanctuary Vacation Rentals runs a professional and personal business that we would not hesitate to book with in the future.

Blake, Kathy, Jon and Barb, Linclon NE, , 12/11/2013 (VRBO Reviews) Hacienda

Better than a fine hotel!. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. While the rest of our friends were "stuck" at the hotel, we were able to enjoy coming and going to "our" beautiful home - complete with deer, views of the ocean and sounds of seals. Couldn't have asked for better accommodations and will recommend to everyone we know! Thank you again and we hope to return.

Lee A., Dallas, Te, 09/03/2013 Hacienda

Once again, thank you for graciously sharing your beautiful home with us. We so enjoy the beautiful views and the peaceful surroundings. We feel right at home from the moment we enter the front door. We look forward to returning next year. Thank you for your warm hospitality.

Owner Submitted Review, , 12/20/2012 (HomeAway Review) Eardley

Stay Dates: 11/16/12 to 11/20/12 "We enjoyed this cottage very much, cozy, comfortable and very welcoming. Good location for access to groceries. Quiet neighborhood. Nicely decorated inside as well as landscaping. This was perfect for the two of us. We are impressed with Sanctuary's high quality standards and reliable service. We look forward to our annual get away here in Pacific Grove. Thanks for sharing your home. We look forward to our next visit. We loved the spa robes." Nancy & Chris

Berger, Bend, Oregon, 03/22/2013 (HomeAway Review) 14th Ave, Carmel

Just a quick review.....home was perfect in every way/detail. Unequivocally everything that it was purported to be, THANK YOU! We will without question turn to you for our next get-away.Thank you for all of your efforts to make our stay enjoyable,Kirk M.Bend, Oregon

Owner Submitted Review, , 09/27/2012 (HomeAway Review) 14th Ave, Carmel

We absolutely loved our stay in this beautiful house! You have thought of every detail to make our stay feel as if we were right at home. The cottage is breathtaking- it looks like it was taken right out of a magazine. Thank you again! P.S. We wish we could stay 9 months!!

Colleen G., , 09/19/2012 (HomeAway Review) 14th Ave, Carmel

We just got back from our 5 day stay in this beautiful beach cottage. It felt as if we were staying in a house that was featured in Coastal Living magazine!! So much attention to detail in the design and decoration. Every need was met from organic bath soaps, designer beach towels & supplies, embroidered bath robes, to pet bowls, you really thought of everything a house guest could need. We felt right at home. In fact, we wished we could have moved in and truly made it our home! The cottage is just a short walk from two separate beaches- each unique and absolutely gorgeous. It is also just a quick five minute drive up to the grocery store and many great restaurants. Both of our young girls (ages 3 and 5) loved every minute and had tears when we had to leave asking if we could come back again to this house next year. I sure hope so! Thanks for an amazing vacation!

Christine B., , 05/09/2013 (VRBO Reviews) Santa Lucia

Wonderful Home in Carmel, CA. We recently stayed at this rental property and what can I say but beautiful. The property was tranquil with every amenity I could ask for. The welcome cheese and wine and roaring fire upon arrival was a wonderul surprise and really appreciated at the beginning of a much overdue holiday. I will definately be back and really look forward to visiting other properties Sanctuary has to offer!

Philip K., , 02/01/2013 (VRBO Reviews) Santa Lucia

Fantastic house!. My wife and I go off for a weekend or so every few of months, just to relax. Our goal is always to find a comfortable, pleasant house to rent, and one that's in a nice area. No lie, this was the best place, and best weekend, we've had in years. Everything - the house, the furniture, the kitchen, the secluded courtyard - was perfect. But the folks that manage this property are also clearly top-notch. We arrived to find a roaring fire, an array of nuts, cheese, and berries along with a bottle of wine set out for us, and the whole house in perfect order. And the two minute talk to the ocean - fantastic. We will return for sure!

Nichole & Darin, , 06/30/2012 (VRBO Reviews) Santa Lucia

Truly Amazing Stay. Thank you for a truly amazing stay at this magical place. From the welcome wine and cheese, the lovely staff at Sanctuary Rentals, and the thoughtful touches throughout the home Looking forward to staying again!

Katherine H., , 12/08/2013 (HomeAway Review) Hermitage

The home was immaculate and the property was manicured beautifully. Little special touches were seen everywhere. The property manager was outstanding and responding instantly to every request. From the minute we entered the house we fell in love and cannot wait to return!

Patti C., Ventura, California, 12/10/2013 (HomeAway Review) Garrapata

Again, the universe's divine order worked on my behalf. As soon as you turn off Hwy 1 onto Garrapata Road leading up to the sanctuary, you get the sense of some place special as stated earlier, a place of peace. Thank you for sharing the space you've created with other seekers. This is a nurturing environment & the Women of Sanctuary Vacation Rentals have attended to all details ensuring an extraordinary getaway to plug in and recharge. Many thanks to them and Marty. The answer to the question, will I return…is a big YES. Checking the calendar now. Much Aloha…

Jenny M., , 03/26/2013 (HomeAway Review) Garrapata

This house is great for a family or couples looking to stay in the Carmel/Bug Sur area. The house is located in an idea location between Big Sur and Carmel. The views from the house are stunning and the home is very tastefully decorated with all the furnishings and supplies one could need. Walls of windows and skylights make the home feel bright and cheerful. Mornings are blissful having breakfast outside overlooking the mountains and the outdoor table. Evening sunsets are spectacular enjoyed in the hot tub or from the deck chairs overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Sanctuary Vacation Rentals and the home's caretaker, Liz, did an excellent job making our stay comfortable and memorable. From the plush robes provided for each guest, the welcome bottle of wine, cheese and crackers to the great customer service provided before, during and after our stay, Sanctuary is one of the best vacation rental management companies we have ever used.

Victoria R., , 06/24/2013 (HomeAway Review) Monterey St.

Can't remember when we have enjoyed a vacation more! Casa Fina is so welcoming and comfortable and it was such a treat to call it our home for five fabulous days! My morning walks to the village and ocean with my 11 year old daughter was a perfect way to start each day!From the moment we walked in (the wine and cheese, so special) we wanted for nothing, there attention to every detail is amazing. The towels, linens and robes were very luxurious. Normally we do not like to cook on vacations, however, we found it hard to leave Casa Fina in the evenings. Our evening fires, music and wine tastings made cooking even seem fun (the kitchen has everything you would ever need and a grill on the patio).Thank you for making our stay in Carmel unforgettable!Dave and Vikki RuggLincoln,CAP.S. Our six year old Grandson Connor, really summed it up “Nana and Papa, I don't ever want to leave”!

Deborah K., Petaluma, CA, 11/05/2012 Laurie Cr.

First guests to this fabulous home. We do a lot of traveling and this house ranks high in our Top 10! Beautifully decorated and so well equipped. This house is the perfect location and so close to everything! The art, created by the owner, Nicholas Boghasian, is fabulous. If you have the time you much visit his Gallery in Carmel. The house is also in the perfect location. So close to everything. We shall return.

Owner Submitted Review, , 10/30/2013 (HomeAway Review) Laurie Cr.

Serene, warm & inviting... those were our thoughts walking into this home. We LOVE the decor, the beach colors, the lamps, the chairs, the rugs - basically everything. This home is perfect. We appreciated all of the details. (This comment was taken from our guest book.)

Deborah K., Petaluma, CA, 11/05/2012 Laurie Cr.

First guests to this fabulous home. We do a lot of traveling and this house ranks high in our Top 10! Beautifully decorated and so well equipped. This house is the perfect location and so close to everything! The art, created by the owner, Nicholas Boghasian, is fabulous. If you have the time you much visit his Gallery in Carmel. The house is also in the perfect location. So close to everything. We shall return.

Anonymous, -, 10/13/2013 (HomeAway Review) Otter’s Rest

From the moment you enter the front door of Otter's Rest you may rest assured that you will have a vacation stay filled with luxurious tranquility. The property's floor-plan is thoughtfully designed with a private bedroom and bathroom downstairs and two master suites upstairs. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished in colors that compliment an ocean motif and all bathrooms have a spa-like feel. Top of the line linens are found in all bedrooms and baths. The gourmet kitchen is expansive and fully equipped for the most discerning of chefs. The home boasts breathtaking views of Monterey Bay from many of the rooms and is situated about six houses from the ocean where you'll find a beautiful ocean-side walking path. The property managers obviously pay attention to detail and are gracious in their communication and assistance. If you're looking for a luxury vacation home in the Monterey Bay area, look no further than Otter's Rest.

Owner Submitted Review, , 10/30/2013 (HomeAway Review) Vaquero Rd.

What a beautiful home. I lived in this area as a child and coming back 35 years later with my family was unbelievable. This house is so beautiful and you have done some wonderful renovations. It felt like we were sleeping in a brand new house. I hope that people take good care of it and it stays so beautiful for many years. We loved all the "extras" too... It was well equipped for a family of 8. Liz and the management company thought of EVERYTHING. We'll be back!

Whitney R., Bakersfield, 10/09/2013 (HomeAway Review) Captain’s Castle

We had a great stay at the Castle! The house was very clean and well kept. Nice bedding and towels! Beautiful views from most windows. Quiet location at night which is important. Easy walking to restaurants. We enjoyed eating a sunset dinner at the Beach House. Nice drive to Carmel for lunch at The Forge In The Forest. Drove to Pebble Beach and ate at Roy's for bagpipe sundown serenade and dinner.We had several fun encounters with a resident spirit that seems to reside there. Yes, odd but true! I have a friend who is a medium and this spirit was super excited about letting us know he was in the house. Nothing spooky or weird. It made our trip! Will definitely go back!

Owner Submitted Review, , 06/05/2013 (HomeAway Review) Captain’s Castle

A magical place that invites fun, encourages quiet moments, and opens a dialog with the sea, the trees, the flowers, the seals & pups, the birds and so much more.

Daniel T., , 05/23/2013 (HomeAway Review) Captain’s Castle

….. Sanctuary Vacation Rentals is true to its name, providing an experience of calm and beauty that is more than just a great place to stay. Sanctuary carefully and thoughtfully anticipates guests and provides the perfect setting for a stress-free and spa-like stay - green cleaning products, luxurious bath products, bathrobes, lush linens and bedding, led candles in the front hall and by the beds, inspirational books, literature on the local sights and events, pre-stocked kitchen for your first glass of wine and continental breakfast. Sanctuary goes above and beyond most rentals with charming notes posted here and there that help a visitor find her way around the heating system, the charming antique shower, the high tech connections, and the kitchen appliances, taking the guess-work out of staying in this grand and comfortable sanctuary.

AnneMarie D., , 05/04/2013 (HomeAway Review) Captain’s Castle

The Sanctuary Vacation Rental company has done it again by bringing on the Captains Castle in Pacific Grove. This home is a gem. The furnishing and fixtures are perfectly suited to this castle. The location can not be topped. While staying in April we saw a momma seal give birth to her baby...right across from the house on the incredible PG coast. Everything you want in a vacation rental is provided in this house even a brand new clean sponge at the sink! The place was spotless and well equipped. Our stay was relaxing and care free.

Catherine S., , 08/15/2013 (HomeAway Review) San Antonio

We had a wonderful time while staying at this home in Carmel. We were a group of three families with younger kids and the bedroom situation worked out great for us. The property manager was amazing and helped us to prepare for our trip and was very accommodating. The location was also perfect for walks to the beach, but away from the Carmel traffic. Sitting in the spa and listening to the waves crash on the beach after the kids were asleep was very relaxing! Thank you for a great stay!

Patrick W., , 11/08/2013 (HomeAway Review) Seadance

Absolutely delightful home for accommodations at Monterey Peninsula. You just can't beat sitting on the porch, sipping wine and watching the waves and animal life just a few yards away. The wonderful sights, sounds, and smells stimulate the senses. The house is fully equipped and very comfortable! Sanctuary Rentals was great to work with. Looking forward to another visit.

Marie E., , 10/03/2013 Heart’s Delight

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home with us! We loved being so close to everything in beautiful Pacific Grove. We have stayed in many, many vacation homes over the past years but have never found a home so well equipped as Heart's Delight. We especially loved the Dutch door in the library, with the sun shining in and the cool breeze it made for a perfect reading and napping spot. Having original artwork was truly special. Thank you again for all the special touches that went into Heart's Delight.

Anne Marie, Waitsfield, Vermont, 09/12/2013 (VRBO Reviews) Storybook Cottage

…..Sanctuary was great and all the staff very helpful. I am in the hospitality business (Inn owner in Vermont) and I was impressed by the quality of care and concern for my comfort. The beach house Restaurant sunset dinner at lovers point is the best deal in town and the food and the location can’t be beat. (need to arrive by 5:30 and I suggest reservations as it was packed at 5 pm). I also love the Crema Wine Bar and coffee house that has recently been added to Pacific Grove downtown. I will definitely tell my friends about Storybook Cottage and Sanctuary Vacation Rentals.

Mary Q., Dixon, 01/09/2014 (HomeAway Review) Villa Escondido

We had a wonderful time at Villa Escondido, we enjoyed the beautiful setting. We had a beautiful Christmas tree, welcome wine and appetizer. We loved the mornings in the sitting room, evenings in front of the warm fire. We had a beautiful dinner in the large dining room. We had robes in all rooms. Very warm welcome! The house Manager was great. Great Customer Svs! Attention to every detail. Love it, we didn't want to leave. .... We will DEFINITELY try to stay here again. Thank you again, hope to stay a week next time! The Quinonez Family