You are here

Guest Reviews/Testimonials

Tori A. - fresno, ca 10/31/17 - yelp review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"My family and I, with one three-year-old granddaughter, had a lovely stay for one week. This was our 3rd year renting the 3096 Sanctuary by the Bay, so it feels like a second home to us now.  We plan on going back in 2018!  We were in walking distance to the Monterrey Bay Aquarium, the quaint downtown Pacific Grove and a few steps away from the ocean walking path.  We also walked all the way to the Dennis the Menace Park, which is two miles away.  What great exercise.  Everything was done by staff member, Trish, to ensure that our stay was perfect.  I highly recommend this home which is a three bedroom and two and a half bathrooms.  Our family enjoyed the privacy of the master bedroom upstairs, two bedrooms down stairs and the large living space where we gathered during the day and evening.  I highly recommend this property and endearing city."

Bill G. - Seal Beach, CA 10/10/2017 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"We hadn't used Sanctuary Vacation Rental before our recent trip to the Monterey Peninsula, but after looking online at their pool of about 100 units and finding exactly what we wanted, we decided to give them a try. It was one of the best moves we have ever made.  These people aren't amateurs who are booking rentals as a side hobby.  From working with Cheryl and Mary to book the rental and handle the admin details, to dealing with the daily house managers Brandon and Pravenish, and working with the maintainance manager Tim,  it was first class customer service and professionalism the whole way.   The unit itself was beautifully decorated, and at least as nice if not better than the online description.  Included were so many of the little amenities we all need at home that we all take for granted until we don't have them.    In sum, I wouldn't consider using anyone else for all of our future rentals in the Monterey Peninsula area."

Parisa, s - Berkeley, CA - 9/5/2017 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"We really enjoyed our stay this labor day at one of your properties in Carmel.  The home was well equipped, very elegant and beautifully designed.  I would rent again from your company.  P.Samimi"

S. V. Man - San Jose, Ca - August 2017 - tripadvisor Review - 5 out of 5 points!

"Came back to this awesome place. Got to experience when it first came on and glad I came back. The house is immaculate. Came with a group of 3 couples and couldn't have enjoyed it more. Outside gazebo is top notch and perfect for a mid day drink or chat! Enough room to breathe. Perfect location to walk anywhere. Thoroughly enjoyed this stay. Great company, great house and great experience."

Janie b. - Folsom, CA - 8/19/2017 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"Had a wonderful time and exceeded all our expectations!  Very clean, well laid out, fully stocked of all necessities, great location!  Everything to ensure our satisfaction was thought of!    I'll be back!!!!  Thank you for the memories!"

gloria c. - Newhall, CA - 8/19/2017 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"My husband and I visited Monterey with our daughter, son in law and three young grandsons. This Sanctuary house and property surpassed our expectations. The view! the view! the view! I was so impressed with the cleanliness, furnishings, decor and organized kitchen! We so enjoyed your little 'secret garden' with all the flowers and plants picnic table and ocean view!! Relaxing on cozy couches, in front of the fireplace with complimentary wine and cheese added an extra touch to our pleasure. We truly loved being here. The customer service was professional and friendly. All of our questions We're answered promptly before and during our stay. The house manager Julia made me feel so welcome. I felt like a guest in a good friends home!!"

April K - Huntington Beach, CA - 5/29/2017 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"Sanctuary Vacation Rentals were excellent to work with. They swooped in after having issues with another booking and seriously saved the day and made everything so easy for us. The home we stayed in was beyond incredible. We had such a great trip thanks to Sanctuary!"

deanna l. - may 2017 - reviewed on homeaway - 5 out of 5 stars!

"This was an amazing home, it had everything that we needed to enjoy our time with family. Every six months we find a location and spend time together, renting a home that we can all stay at instead of hotels is the only way to go, this was a beautiful retreat and our new puppy was very happy also. The company was very easy to work with and the price was fair. We will use them again."

jasmine a. - Los Altos, CA - 3/21/2017 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"Stayed at a home in Pacific Grove with my 8 girlfriends one weekend and had such a lovely time in the beautifully decorated, comfortable home that I booked another long weekend for just my husband and me at a smaller but just as luxurious home in the beach tract area of Pacific Grove -- minutes away from Beach Trail and Lighthouse.  Both weekend homes were clean and luxurious with well-stocked gourmet kitchens, clean linens and towels, very well organized.  I highly recommend Sanctuary Vacation Rentals.  I've stayed at some lovely B&B's in Pacific Grove and Carmel as well, but prefer the privacy and the spaciousness of staying at a home.  Hope to return again soon."

jeff d. - Knoxville, TN - 11/11/2016 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"This is our first home rental using Sanctuary Vacation Rentals, and they were great! They communicated everything accurately and concisely which was awesome. Julia was tremendous and I would certainly recommend them to anyone. The home we rented in Pacific Grove was top notch."

laurie b. - Beverly Hills, CA - 10/29/2016 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"Can't say enough about SVR! We were 4 old friends and wanted a quiet weekend at the beach. The house was perfect-- quiet, comfortable, clean and cozy. Great location: half a block from the beach, 2 blocks from the aquarium, a block to the grocery store. If we wanted to, we could have stayed in and had everything we needed for the whole weekend. Renting was seamless and Trish was super accommodating of our request for early check in. I'll never stay in a hotel in the area again! Thank you!"

matt p. - october 2016 - reviewed on homeaway - 5 out of 5 stars!

"Outstanding property and great customer service from Sanctuary. Second rental from them and will rent again. No negatIves. If you want to visit OG, Monterey or Carmel- a no brainer"

Kim s. - Savannah, GA - 9/19/2016 - Yelp Review - 4 out of 5 Stars!

"I didn't end up booking my trip with Sanctuary, but just wanted to leave a note to say what exceptional customer service they give!  Professional, courteous and prompt answers to my million questions!  Thank you - I'm sure I'll inquire again!"

ashley, w. - september 2016 - reviewed on homeaway - 5 out of 5 stars!

"Working with Sanctuary Vacation Rentals was extremely easy and the property we stayed at was very clean and fully stocked for all of our needs. The kitchen had all appliances and utensils imaginable, and the bathrooms had shampoo and body wash. Additionally, there was detergent and dryer sheets, which made washing clothes very convenient! The company provided many helpful notes throughout the renting process. My favorites were 1) a reminder email when the 2nd half of the payment was going to be auto drafted from my account. This was helpful because it was over a month since the booking, and I could have easily forgotten the auto-draft was about to occur. 2) Julia was extremely responsive and easy to work with. For example, we ended up arriving later than expected on our first day, and she made sure the porch lights were on for us. Overall great experience!"

j. s. - Santa Clara, CA - 7/15/2016 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"I've rented homes from Sanctuary Vacation Rentals many times, and have always been happy with the homes.  However this review is a bit different - this review is a review of how the company handles unforeseen events.  Sometimes the best indication of how a company is managed is to see how they handle unexpected issues.

We just got back from Pacific Grove.  The home we rented was fine, but unfortunately during our first night a tree branch crashed down onto the driveway and ripped out power to the home, blocking our car in the garage.  Brandon from Sanctuary was terrific (thank you, Brandon).  The next morning he drove us to look at two additional homes we could choose from while they sent someone to remove the tree from the driveway.  He later drove us back to the first house, helped us pack up our belongings, and brought us back to the new home, making sure we were all settled and happy.  This trip was certainly an adventure, and could have been a complete disaster, but Sanctuary Vacation Rentals really stepped up to the plate, took quick action, and made sure we were happy.  They were very professional.  For these reasons, we'll continue to rent vacation properties from them, and recommend them to our friends."

a. s. - Los Angeles, CA - 2/2/2016 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"We rented a home from SVR in Pacific Beach in June 2015 - and it was wonderful. The company made the process easy, and responding quickly to emails and calls. They described the two or three properties I was interested in, pros and cons, and helped us determine which to rent. Our choice was a bright, large, and super clean home, with lots of dishes, glasses, and cooking/serving ware and good beds. The photos shown online were accurate. We tried to do so again this year but it is so popular that we couldn't get a date that ended up working for the whole family. My grandson (3) asked if we were going "to our other house" (I wish - will try again in 2017!).  I booked this year (June 2016), but needed to cancel - and that is the other part of my review. The process to cancel is simple and expedited. The only monies withheld (this was a cancellation more that 90 days out) were less than $50. Other places I have considered renting ask for between $600 and $2000 non-refundable deposits. I would highly recommend the company!"

michelle, s - wa, dc - 12/3/2015 - TripAdvisor Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"I've had many vacation rentals and this house was among the best appointed properties I've ever seen. It was completely turn-key. The house is open and airy with a pretty little back patio. The gas fireplace made the open floor plan very cozy. Beds were comfortable, linens and towels fresh and plentiful. There is cable and internet. The most amazing thing was the kitchen -- it was equipped with EVERYTHING you could ever want for dining in, right down to an immersion blender. The management company was top-shelf and great to work with. They sent me all the info I needed well in advance, and gave me info on local grocery store. We were there over Christmas and they went above and beyond to add holiday touches to the house to make it very festive and welcoming for us."

Barbara B. - 7/9/2015 - TripAdvisor Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"The home was classic Carmel with beautiful furnishings, updated kitchen and beautiful bathroom. The deck was lovely and we even fed blue jays peanuts from our hands! The bathroom is exquisite and the master bed was SUPER comfortable. Quiet, perfect location, yet super close to town. Whenever we had an issue, Annee was open and receptive to helping. Her company, Sanctuary Vacation Rentals, really helped us out so much for those few months we were looking for a home. They enabled us to stay on the peninsula in style while we looked for a home. Thank you, Annee and Sanctuary Vacation Rentals!"

Khanh n. - cupertino, ca - 4/12/2015 - TripAdvisor Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"We stayed at sea breeze for 3 days, with 2 adults and 4 children. We were initially a little concerned that the place did not look that nice from the outside, and seemed far from the beach. We were immediately pleased when saw the place in person. In spite of the low key exterior, the place was very nicely set up, with nice furniture, a kitchen full of settings and utensils, and the updates lightings throughout. It is a 5-10 minutes walk from the beach, and we went there everyday. Had a great vacation thx in part to the nice house. On another note, we have stayed with Sanctuary Vacation Rentals 3 times in the past 3-4 years, and have been very impressed and pleased every time"

Carolyn, P.T. - Chelsea, Mi - 4/1/2015 - TripAdvisor Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"Our month long stay at Bayview- Monarch was extraordinary. The interior had high end finishes with a fully equipped kitchen,plenty of room for 2-4 people, a private deck with gas grill and a perfect location. There is a garage and carport and plenty of street parking. Sanctuary Vacation Rentals was fabulous to work with and always returned calls or texts promptly and took care of any minor issues we had. This was a quiet and beautiful location in a quaint city and the accommodations exceeded our expectations."

K. Mora - Santa Barbara, Ca - 3/19/2015 - TripAdvisor Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"Planned a Family gathering to celebrate 3 birthdays and this home exceed our expectations! The outside looks old, but the inside is delightful, fresh and cute. We relaxed for several hours each day, walked the nearby beach trails, and even saw whales pass by three days in a row while sitting on the front porch! The house is well stocked with everything you might need and is very comfortable. The three bedrooms are nicely done, and the "extra" room with the blowup bed was cute as well. I highly recommend this rental for a special gathering. It's close to restaurants, stores and minutes to Monterey. The property management company went out of their way! We stayed for 3 nights and will stay a week next time!"

debbie, g. - Sacramento, Ca - 3/8/2015 - TripAdvisor Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"My wife and I and another couple thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay. Home is fully stocked, bedrooms very comfortable, and yard was great for our two small dogs. The wood burning fire pit was nice with plenty of fire wood. We enjoyed morning walks to the Asilomar Beach, drives to Carmel, Monterey, and a nice afternoon at Point Lobos. All were just a short drive away. Try Toasties in Pacific Grove, great food. We will surely rent again when vacationing in this area with other people. This house is as advertised and the management is easy to work with"

Teresa K.G. greenwich, ct - 11/12/14 - TripAdvisor Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

Swiss philosopher Alain de Botton says it best: "architecture of happiness". Otter's Rest is one of those places that keeps you yearning for just one more night. The understated exterior is the perfect backdrop for for some of the most beautiful ocean vistas in the world. Once inside it is apparent how sophisticated and luxurious simplicity can be. From the inviting living room, serious chef's kitchen, elegant dining room, three spacious bedrooms , baths to dream views from office this is our favorite vacation home. From the ease of booking with Joyce at Sanctuary Rentals to our interaction with the impeccable house manager, Julia we found Otter's Rest to be everything and more. We cannot wait to return for our THIRD visit. Thank you Annee!

leandra, w. - brooklyn, ny - 10/18/2014 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"My mother, two of her friends and I were going to the jazz festival in Monterey and decided renting a house would be a better option than a hotel. It indeed was! The house was beautiful and so well stocked. We all marveled at how much attention was given to every single detail. If you wanted to bake bread or make a turkey, you could. The entire space so comfortable and quaint, we didn't want to leave. They took care of every detail. If you want to relax on your next trip to Pacific Grove, Carmel or Monterey and feel like you're at home, I recommend going with Sanctuary."

JIm W. - Santa Rosa, California - 7/29/14 - TripAdvisor Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"What a great surprise! This home was perfect for our 3 families. We all had beds, good bath facilities, all 13 in beds and lots of space to share time, be private and let the kids have their space for games, chat and backyard play. This home is deceivingly spacious with the up and downstairs living areas. The home is exceptionally well equipped with kitchen and eating dishes and utensils. The home is very well maintained, clean and up-to-date. The location is perfect. It is walking-distance to downtown, restaurants, shopping, coffee-houses and market. 17-mile drive is at the corner and Carmel is minutes away. Kayaking on Monterey Bay and a visit to the Aquarium are perfect activities for family fun....all ages will fit this home.  Sanctuary Vacation Rentals is great to work with. Easy, friendly, accurate and helpful... cannot be better."

Linn C. - toronto, on - 3/13/14 - TripAdvisor Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"We had some significant bumps with some hot water troubles (that should now be totally rectified due to the replacement of the hot water tank), but the house manager was 100% on it, completely accessible, and worked with the owner to ensure that the issues were addressed quickly and with as little interruption to our stay as possible. The house is beautiful and well-appointed, the location is spectacular, and that, together with the excellent rental company and responsive owner, make this an excellent option for the Monterey area."

karen h., anderson, ca - 2/4/14 - Yelp Review - 5 out of 5 Stars!

"Having rented two different vacation properties from Sanctuary in Pacific Grove, I can't see us staying anywhere else.  Their homes are clean, comfortable, and affordable.  Traveling with a toddler can be a challenge.  Using a vacation home has made the house itself a new experience for our son and he loves it.  Prices are comparable to that of a hotel with so much more to offer.  Beds, linens, and appliances are all top quality leaving nothing out.  Kitchens are well stocked which makes traveling (and packing) that much easier.  My only regret is when we have to leave.  I look forward to our next stay.  Thank you Sanctuary for helping us make such great memories."

Mary Q., Dixon, CA -  01/09/2014 - HomeAway Review

"We had a wonderful time at Villa Escondido, we enjoyed the beautiful setting. We had a beautiful Christmas tree, welcome wine and appetizer. We loved the mornings in the sitting room, evenings in front of the warm fire. We had a beautiful dinner in the large dining room. We had robes in all rooms. Very warm welcome! The house Manager was great. Great Customer Svs! Attention to every detail. Love it, we didn't want to leave. .... We will DEFINITELY try to stay here again. Thank you again, hope to stay a week next time!" -  The Quinonez Family

Blake, Kathy, Jon and Barb, Linclon NE, , 12/11/2013 - VRBO Reviews

Better than a fine hotel!. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. While the rest of our friends were "stuck" at the hotel, we were able to enjoy coming and going to "our" beautiful home - complete with deer, views of the ocean and sounds of seals. Couldn't have asked for better accommodations and will recommend to everyone we know! Thank you again and we hope to return.

Katherine H., , 12/08/2013 - HomeAway Review

The home was immaculate and the property was manicured beautifully. Little special touches were seen everywhere. The property manager was outstanding and responding instantly to every request. From the minute we entered the house we fell in love and cannot wait to return!

Ann K., 5515 Utica Ridge Rd,Da, 11/21/2013

Our vacation at Pacific Whispers was a delight. Our family of nine loved this home and the terrific beds, pillows, towels, table settings and extra amenities...the cleanliness of this home could not have been better. Simply a beautiful and comfy home. The Big Sur Half Marathon was the reason for our trip from Iowa, Denver, San Diego and south Bend and proved to be fantastic on a beautiful day in Monterey. Sanctuary Vacation Rentals did a perfect job lining us up and caring for our arrival...they presented accurately and beautifully the photos and information on Pacific Whispers. We felt well cared for. Thanks to Kim for her attention to detail and delightful cheer in working with us.

Patrick W., 11/08/2013 - HomeAway Review

Absolutely delightful home for accommodations at Monterey Peninsula. You just can't beat sitting on the porch, sipping wine and watching the waves and animal life just a few yards away. The wonderful sights, sounds, and smells stimulate the senses. The house is fully equipped and very comfortable! Sanctuary Rentals was great to work with. Looking forward to another visit.

Owner Submitted Review, , 10/30/2013 - HomeAway Review

What a beautiful home. I lived in this area as a child and coming back 35 years later with my family was unbelievable. This house is so beautiful and you have done some wonderful renovations. It felt like we were sleeping in a brand new house. I hope that people take good care of it and it stays so beautiful for many years. We loved all the "extras" too... It was well equipped for a family of 8. Liz and the management company thought of EVERYTHING. We'll be back!

Anonymous,  10/13/2013 - HomeAway Review

From the moment you enter the front door of Otter's Rest you may rest assured that you will have a vacation stay filled with luxurious tranquility. The property's floor-plan is thoughtfully designed with a private bedroom and bathroom downstairs and two master suites upstairs. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished in colors that compliment an ocean motif and all bathrooms have a spa-like feel. Top of the line linens are found in all bedrooms and baths. The gourmet kitchen is expansive and fully equipped for the most discerning of chefs. The home boasts breathtaking views of Monterey Bay from many of the rooms and is situated about six houses from the ocean where you'll find a beautiful ocean-side walking path. The property managers obviously pay attention to detail and are gracious in their communication and assistance. If you're looking for a luxury vacation home in the Monterey Bay area, look no further than Otter's Rest.

Cynthia T., , 10/12/2013 - HomeAway Review 

This was a getaway trip for a some R&R and some fun too. I rented this place sight unseen based on what I saw on the website. The house turned out to be more than I expected. Very comfy and has a great energy. It is clean and very well maintained with a fantastic yard and deck with an ocean view. The neighborhood is so peaceful, I was happy just hanging at the house. I felt so comfortable here I was ready to move in! I will definitely return.

Whitney R., Bakersfield, 10/09/2013 - HomeAway Review

We had a great stay at the Castle! The house was very clean and well kept. Nice bedding and towels! Beautiful views from most windows. Quiet location at night which is important. Easy walking to restaurants. We enjoyed eating a sunset dinner at the Beach House. Nice drive to Carmel for lunch at The Forge In The Forest. Drove to Pebble Beach and ate at Roy's for bagpipe sundown serenade and dinner.We had several fun encounters with a resident spirit that seems to reside there. Yes, odd but true! I have a friend who is a medium and this spirit was super excited about letting us know he was in the house. Nothing spooky or weird. It made our trip! Will definitely go back!

Petpro, El Dorado, CA, 09/18/2013 - HomeAway Review

The staff at Sanctuary Vacation Rentals is wonderful. They are friendly and make sure you are happy. The guest house is perfect for someone looking for a small but beautiful place to stay and a short drive to the beach. The decorating is so soothing and the place is full of light. I am so very thankful that Charlie, my dog, and I are welcomed there and the neighborhood is perfect for a nice quiet walk. I hope to make it next year too! This was my second year and loved it!

A. M. Waitsfield, Vermont, 09/12/2013 - VRBO Reviews

…..Sanctuary was great and all the staff very helpful. I am in the hospitality business (Inn owner in Vermont) and I was impressed by the quality of care and concern for my comfort. The beach house Restaurant sunset dinner at lovers point is the best deal in town and the food and the location can’t be beat. (need to arrive by 5:30 and I suggest reservations as it was packed at 5 pm). I also love the Crema Wine Bar and coffee house that has recently been added to Pacific Grove downtown. I will definitely tell my friends about Storybook Cottage and Sanctuary Vacation Rentals.

Lee A., Dallas, Tx, 09/03/2013

Once again, thank you for graciously sharing your beautiful home with us. We so enjoy the beautiful views and the peaceful surroundings. We feel right at home from the moment we enter the front door. We look forward to returning next year. Thank you for your warm hospitality.

Catherine S., , 08/15/2013 - HomeAway Review

We had a wonderful time while staying at this home in Carmel. We were a group of three families with younger kids and the bedroom situation worked out great for us. The property manager was amazing and helped us to prepare for our trip and was very accommodating. The location was also perfect for walks to the beach, but away from the Carmel traffic. Sitting in the spa and listening to the waves crash on the beach after the kids were asleep was very relaxing! Thank you for a great stay!

Victoria R., , 06/24/2013 - HomeAway Review

Can't remember when we have enjoyed a vacation more! Casa Fina is so welcoming and comfortable and it was such a treat to call it our home for five fabulous days! My morning walks to the village and ocean with my 11 year old daughter was a perfect way to start each day!From the moment we walked in (the wine and cheese, so special) we wanted for nothing, there attention to every detail is amazing. The towels, linens and robes were very luxurious. Normally we do not like to cook on vacations, however, we found it hard to leave Casa Fina in the evenings. Our evening fires, music and wine tastings made cooking even seem fun (the kitchen has everything you would ever need and a grill on the patio).Thank you for making our stay in Carmel unforgettable!Dave and Vikki RuggLincoln,CAP.S. Our six year old Grandson Connor, really summed it up “Nana and Papa, I don't ever want to leave”!

Louis A., Gold River, CA, 06/17/2013

What a great house! We came, we saw, we vacationed in style. Golf, beaches, hiking, and more. This vacation was a family reunion, and was very special, indeed. We can't wait to tell our friends and family about Pacific Whispers. We are also discussing a return visit. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful house and helping us create a truly remarkable vacation! Marlene, Lou and Adrian, Sacramento CA and Amber, Rob, Evan and Abby, Thousand Oaks, CA.

Daniel T., , 05/23/2013 - HomeAway Review

….. Sanctuary Vacation Rentals is true to its name, providing an experience of calm and beauty that is more than just a great place to stay. Sanctuary carefully and thoughtfully anticipates guests and provides the perfect setting for a stress-free and spa-like stay - green cleaning products, luxurious bath products, bathrobes, lush linens and bedding, led candles in the front hall and by the beds, inspirational books, literature on the local sights and events, pre-stocked kitchen for your first glass of wine and continental breakfast. Sanctuary goes above and beyond most rentals with charming notes posted here and there that help a visitor find her way around the heating system, the charming antique shower, the high tech connections, and the kitchen appliances, taking the guess-work out of staying in this grand and comfortable sanctuary.

Christine B., , 05/09/2013 - VRBO Reviews

Wonderful Home in Carmel, CA. We recently stayed at this rental property and what can I say but beautiful. The property was tranquil with every amenity I could ask for. The welcome cheese and wine and roaring fire upon arrival was a wonderul surprise and really appreciated at the beginning of a much overdue holiday. I will definately be back and really look forward to visiting other properties Sanctuary has to offer!

AnneMarie D., , 05/04/2013 - HomeAway Review

The Sanctuary Vacation Rental company has done it again by bringing on the Captains Castle in Pacific Grove. This home is a gem. The furnishing and fixtures are perfectly suited to this castle. The location can not be topped. While staying in April we saw a momma seal give birth to her baby...right across from the house on the incredible PG coast. Everything you want in a vacation rental is provided in this house even a brand new clean sponge at the sink! The place was spotless and well equipped. Our stay was relaxing and care free.

Berger, Bend, Oregon, 03/22/2013 - HomeAway Review

Just a quick review.....home was perfect in every way/detail. Unequivocally everything that it was purported to be, THANK YOU! We will without question turn to you for our next get-away.Thank you for all of your efforts to make our stay enjoyable,Kirk M.Bend, Oregon

Lisa G., , 02/10/2013 - HomeAway Review

We had a great time staying at this beautiful home through Sanctuary Rentals. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful in terms of finding us a house in the perfect location -we needed to be walking distance to Cannery Row and this house is literally one block away. the house was incredibly clean, the beds were all very comfortable with nice linens. The bathrooms were also clean and really big with luxurious towels. There was wine and Boursin cheese waiting our arrival, which was awesome. The kitchen was fully equipped and there were ocean views throughout the beautiful upstairs. I would definitely recommend this house and using sanctuary rentals to anyone and I hope to get to stay here again. It's a five minute walk to the aquarium, along the beautiful boardwalk. Totally awesome.

Philip K., , 02/01/2013 - VRBO Reviews

Fantastic house!. My wife and I go off for a weekend or so every few of months, just to relax. Our goal is always to find a comfortable, pleasant house to rent, and one that's in a nice area. No lie, this was the best place, and best weekend, we've had in years. Everything - the house, the furniture, the kitchen, the secluded courtyard - was perfect. But the folks that manage this property are also clearly top-notch. We arrived to find a roaring fire, an array of nuts, cheese, and berries along with a bottle of wine set out for us, and the whole house in perfect order. And the two minute talk to the ocean - fantastic. We will return for sure!

Owner Submitted Review, , 12/20/2012 - HomeAway Review

Stay Dates: 11/16/12 to 11/20/12 "We enjoyed this cottage very much, cozy, comfortable and very welcoming. Good location for access to groceries. Quiet neighborhood. Nicely decorated inside as well as landscaping. This was perfect for the two of us. We are impressed with Sanctuary's high quality standards and reliable service. We look forward to our annual get away here in Pacific Grove. Thanks for sharing your home. We look forward to our next visit. We loved the spa robes." Nancy & Chris

Deborah K., Petaluma, CA, 11/05/2012

First guests to this fabulous home. We do a lot of traveling and this house ranks high in our Top 10! Beautifully decorated and so well equipped. This house is the perfect location and so close to everything! The art, created by the owner, Nicholas Boghasian, is fabulous. If you have the time you much visit his Gallery in Carmel. The house is also in the perfect location. So close to everything. We shall return.

Owner Submitted Review, , 10/28/2012 - HomeAway Review

Dear Sanctuary Team, You have a special touch and have created a perfect standard for all in the rental business to strive for-...starting with the website which stands out and inspires confidence in what you offer and promise....All was met and exceeded. The good fortune of having a property in this wonderful neighborhood is matched by what you have done with it. The great design and decor is so soothing and beautiful. All amenities, furniture, the patio, beach equipment, privacy...everything! All so well thought out and accommodating-and perfect for us to enjoy with our girls"the labs". All perfect! Thank you so much We cant wait to return. Bravo!

Owner Submitted Review, , 09/27/2012 - HomeAway Review

We absolutely loved our stay in this beautiful house! You have thought of every detail to make our stay feel as if we were right at home. The cottage is breathtaking- it looks like it was taken right out of a magazine. Thank you again! P.S. We wish we could stay 9 months!!

Colleen G., , 09/19/2012 - HomeAway Review

We just got back from our 5 day stay in this beautiful beach cottage. It felt as if we were staying in a house that was featured in Coastal Living magazine!! So much attention to detail in the design and decoration. Every need was met from organic bath soaps, designer beach towels & supplies, embroidered bath robes, to pet bowls, you really thought of everything a house guest could need. We felt right at home. In fact, we wished we could have moved in and truly made it our home! The cottage is just a short walk from two separate beaches- each unique and absolutely gorgeous. It is also just a quick five minute drive up to the grocery store and many great restaurants. Both of our young girls (ages 3 and 5) loved every minute and had tears when we had to leave asking if we could come back again to this house next year. I sure hope so! Thanks for an amazing vacation!

Julie B., Vancouver, BC, 06/30/2012

We loved, beyond belief, your home! It exceeded our expectations. We are now going to redesign our home when we return. We will definitely recommend your property to anyone coming to this area. The beds, too comfortable, hard to get out of in the morning. All the thoughtful touches were so much appreciated. Thanks again for a memorable vacation.

Pamela D., , 08/03/2012 - HomeAway Review

Our stay at the Lover's Point property was a pleasant experience from the moment we booked. The contacts we had with booking and management we found universally polite, responsive and thorough. We arrived with our four children and were delighted to find the home welcoming, beautifully maintained and equipped. Rooms were expansive and the six of us managed to settle comfortably in the space immediately. It was a welcome retreat at the end of our fun-filled days. The home is located just steps from the bike trail, beach and shoreline. Sanctuary Vacation Rentals runs a professional and personal business that we would not hesitate to book with in the future.

Nichole & Darin, , 06/30/2012 - VRBO Reviews

Truly Amazing Stay. Thank you for a truly amazing stay at this magical place. From the welcome wine and cheese, the lovely staff at Sanctuary Rentals, and the thoughtful touches throughout the home Looking forward to staying again!

Heather B., Fresno, CA, 06/04/2012

Our stay at 6th Street was PERFECT! Even more beautiful than the pictures, everything we could possibly need/want. Thank you for letting us stay at your beautiful beach house & to the wonderful staff @ Sanctuary Vacation Rentals for being so amazing and helpful.

Kim W., FLAGSTAFF, AR, 04/25/2012

Everything over and above. Better than expected. Best VRBO we have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Perfect, fresh, top of the items provided. Location in walking restaurants, shops and beach. Incredible historical home. Airy, clean and tastefully decorated. We will be back next year!!

Laiele D., Fresno, CA, 04/04/2012

We are avid travelers and experienced beach combers...with this comes ample rental experience! Your home is among the most lovely and comfortable we've been able to enjoy.Thank you for paying close attention to detail.The amenities were the best!

Raschell W., Manhattan Beach, CA, 03/24/2012

Wow! What a great place. They have thought of everything! Our whole group had a wonderful time and made many wonderful memories. I have 2 small children, and my oldest asked if he could move here. Thank you for the excellent home!! The M. Clan

Tom K., Scottsdale, AZ, 02/20/2012

What a wonderful place in a wonderful location. Four guys on an annual golf trip - Over the years we have been fortunate to experience some great locations. This will surely be among our finest. The home is perfectly appointed - you certainly know your clientele. Thanks so much for the care, attention to detail and the all-around warm hospitality." Warmest regards,
Terry Doug Chris and Tom

Melinda M., , 01/11/2012 - HomeAway Review

We rented the sanctuary Carmel Mesa house over the new year weekend 2011-2012, and could not have been more pleased with our stay. The homes amenities were abundant and the decor was simply lovely! It's location to all that Carmel and Monterrey have to offer is perfection. We had one quick question about the house and after calling the folks at Sanctuary Rentals, the issue was fixed within 20 minutes. You can't get that kind of service in any 5 star hotel! We are so very impressed! My brother and sister in law rented the guest house adjacent to the main house, and the ease with which we could all gather and share the New Year together was wonderful! We will absolutely be back! R. Sciandri & M. Miller - San Francisco

Elizabeth K., , 12/07/2011 - HomeAway Review

This is a fantastic place to stay. The house is spotless, furnished thoughtfully, and extremely well equipped. The location is so peaceful. I could tell that the owners really took time to make sure this was a great experience for any one staying in the home. The office staff are available, helpful, and very nice to deal with. I recommend this rental home and company highly and with out reservation. I will definitely be retuning to this location. Perfect.

Lisa C., , 11/30/2011 - HomeAway Review

As anyone who has ever rented a vacation home in Carmel knows, rentals are very expensive , often poorly maintained, dated and lacking in many amenities. This was absolutely not the case at the lovely cottages we rented from Sanctuary Vacation rentals in early November. The main house and guest house were both charming and very well appointed. In addition, I found the staff and owner to be very gracious, accommodating and responsive to our needs. I would recommend them unequivicably. Thank you again, Lisa

Denise W., Denver, CO, 11/26/2011 - HomeAway Review

We have rented "pet friendly" homes in the Carmel area for the past nine years and none have been as well appointed as this home! It truly is a "sanctuary" vacation rental. Plus, the staff went out of their way to meet our special request. We look forward to our return. J,D & Pup! Littleton, CO

Owner Submitted Review,  09/16/2011 - HomeAway Review

We decided to come to Carmel at the last minute and we found this charming cottage. The customer service was excellent before & during our stay. We loved the accommodations. You really provided all we needed and more! Elisa F.

Luann M., Springfield, MO, 06/14/2011 - HomeAway Review

This vacation rental was a great place. Clean and spotless. Great location with easy access. Beautiful, private patio. Spacious and open cottage. Very quiet neighborhood. Management was extremely easy to work with. A torta and bottle of wine was waiting for us upon our arrival. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Carmel.

LaCynda D., Reno, NV, 05/22/2011

As a property manager - I over see 85 vacation homes in the Lake Tohoe area. When we travel and rent I like to see how other places do things. The Sanctuary by the Sea Cottage was perfect in every way. The owner and management thought of everything and the beautiful orchids were a very nice touch. The kitchen is well stocked. The use of space in the cottage was well thought out The house instruction binder was helpful, the TV instructions were also very helpful! Internet was easily accessible. Our stay was delightful in everyway. I would highly recommend the cottage. We may reserve the main house next time. Thank you very much. In my opinion you are doing everything just right. Kindest regards, La Cynda Doucette.

Ya Ya, Winfield, Kansas, 05/20/2011 - HomeAway Review

Five girlfriends stayed at Casa Felice for a week and had a truly wonderful experience. The reservation process was very easy and everything was just as it was stated. The house was very clean, bedding wonderful, kitchen well stocked (nice to have "real" dishes). The kitchen/living/patio area was a great place to visit and relax. The block to downtown was so nice and only about 12 blocks to the beach. Grocery stores, shopping, restaurants were all close and there were a lot of choices. We loved the house and are ready to come back! Thanks again for sharing your wonderful home.

Meredith, Opelika, AL, 05/17/2011 - HomeAway Review

Wow! What can I say?? If you are planning a trip to Carmel, it doesn't get much better than Sanctuary by the Sea!!!! I came to Carmel with my husband, another couple and a girlfriend. All three of us girls were running the Big Sur Marathon. Sactuary by the Sea was the perfect house for us!! Tons of space! An amazing kitchen! A glorious clawfoot tub! And only about a 5 minute walk to Downtown Carmel & the beach! The Sanctuary Vacation staff was so helpful prior to our arrival. Hopefully, we will be back to Carmel and staying at Sactuary by the Sea again soon!

Larry M., San Rafael, CA, 04/18/2011

4/18 We greatly enjoyed your home. Everything we could possibly need was at hand. Your attention to even the smallest detail was something we have not encountered very often. We look forward to another stay in the future! Erica and Larry

Genie O., East Hampton, NY, 04/15/2011

Thank you for being so mindful - to care for others so beautifully. Until next time…. Genie

Owner Submitted Review, , 04/06/2011 - HomeAway Review

One of the best getaways ever! The Torres Cottage is everything promised, charming, sunny, comfortable and meticulously clean. The hosts are gracious and took care of everything. We hope that many more get to enjoy the peace and quiet of this quaint little beach town. Thank you. A.S., San Francisco

S. and G., Rocklin, CA, 04/30/2009 - HomeAway Review

…..We have rented several beach homes in Fort Bragg, Jenner, Aptos, and Capitola, but Sanctuary stands head and shoulders above them. This has been a great week and we look forward to returning in the future. Thank you for a five star vacation.